Actor slides across screen without gravity, but goes through tiles without?

Leafeonpikachu

Hello, I'm new to stencil, and I was going to make a platformer, but whenever I make a scene or use an existing one, my actor goes and gets stuck in the ground, and then proceeds to fall. When I make a new scene and use little or no gravity,  the actor slides across the screen or sticks to the platform. Is there a fix to this? (Oh, and can I make a side scrolling rpg with this? If so, how and how do I add text and speech?)

Thanks,
 leafeonpikachu

Joe

Welcome to Stencyl! Start with the run 'n' jump kit, which handles a lot of this for you. The Crash Course inside Stencylpedia will help you get you started on the basics of a platformer, too.

Leafeonpikachu

Thank you, but I already took the crash course, and I'm using a version of that kit.

Joe

Well, getting stuck in the ground sounds like a collision shape issue. As for sliding, do you have friction/damping set? It's easiest to start with an existing character (like Mambo from the crash course) and model your own Actors accordingly, so they fit in nicely with the physics engine.

Leafeonpikachu

I'll try that. I don't know about the sliding though, because it's in the air. (sorry for forgetting to say that.  ':3) Actually, I USED mambo, and just edited his animations to make it the character. everything worked fine with him, but not the character? She seems to be sinking or sliding, but mambo does not. It must have to do with gravity, because if I add it, she sinks into the ground. but without it, the game is glitchy and unresponsive.  D:

« Last Edit: June 28, 2012, 07:34:08 pm by Leafeonpikachu »

FuriousRage

Well, getting stuck in the ground sounds like a collision shape issue. As for sliding, do you have friction/damping set? It's easiest to start with an existing character (like Mambo from the crash course) and model your own Actors accordingly, so they fit in nicely with the physics engine.