New to Pixel Art

Doki2Heart

Greetings to the Stencyl Community,

My name is Stephanie and I am new to pixel art and pixel art animation. I registered so I can be able to improve my art by collecting information, advices & suggestions given be experienced artists.

Here is what I have made so far by reading pixel art tutorials.

Not the best, could be better but I had loads of fun drawing it.

Lucky Star: Konata

Pounding heart

Blob

You're using a lot more colors than you need on that Konata sprite (36). It might seem trivial to limit your palette, but it makes for cleaner and simpler work. Also you have some unsightly banding on it, which you can read how to avoid here. Other than that you're fine.

Doki2Heart

Thank you so much, this article sure is teaching me a whole lot.

I have a few questions:

1. Is anti-aliasing really necessary when making small sprites/backgrounds for games?

2. When is anti-aliasing really needed?

3. How does one make a good palette?

Blob

Anti-aliasing is never outright necessary, but if you want lines to look smoother it helps to have it. If you think a sprite looks better without anti-aliasing in some areas or without it entirely then don't use it, but most of the time it's an improvement and you should use it anywhere you can, just make sure it's proper.

I don't know of any right way to make a palette, I actually pick colors as I go along, just make sure there's a right amount of contrast and variety, and don't use any colors you don't need. It helps if you're using a color picker that let's you easily control the hue, saturation, and light of the color you're picking, as opposed to something like an RGB bar (though RGB bars do sometimes help you accidentally make unique colors).

Doki2Heart

Thank you for the useful advice and info. I'll make sure to keep everything in mind when I draw pixel art.  :)

SWATLLAMA