Help with actor select and on click mouse movement.

zedapple

I am new to stencyl and I want to create a tactical strategy game.  I have been trying to figure out how to select different actors and have them move independently to a click area on the map.  For example, if I want to move a swordsman, I click the swordsman and then click on where I want to move him on the map and just he moves there.  Same thing with an archer or pikeman.  Eventually I want to add attack attributes to each unit as well.  Is this possible with stencyl?  If it is, what is the best way to go about doing this?  I found a youtube video located here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JOhFlpvElrQ  This is exactly what I want to do but I can't find anywhere that helps me solve this problem.  Thanks. 

Hi Zedapple

Welcome to the forums and to Stencyl.

I love those types of games. Let me write a few blocks of code and I'll post back in a sec.

Here you go...

Click the soldier and then choose his destination.

It works in both flash and iOS.

<a href="http://www.firecroc.com/rts.swf" target="_blank" class="new_win">http://www.firecroc.com/rts.swf</a>

I've attached the behaviour.

1) Start stencyl

2) Click on Actor Behaviours

3) Choose import on the top bar

4) Create an actor

5) Attach the behaviour to it.

EDIT: I've commented out the behaviour so have a look to see what each part does.  :)

Stencyl is perfect for this kind of game. The path finding will be the tough part but with work it's definitely possible. I'd certainly look into learning how to make your own behaviours and research into how to use Stencyl. But this behaviour I've made should be a good start.

Hope this helps and let me know if you get stuck!

Tom

« Last Edit: July 26, 2012, 02:36:08 am by Tom - FireCroc Games »

arrested

First; let me apologize for the thread necromancy.