Why is art so hard?

twotimingpete

I started drawing in about 2006. I became obsessed with comics and webcomics, one in particular, Alpha Shade. I thought about it, I fancied myself as having some good creative/artistic instincts, and decided -- if he can do it, why can't I?

So I got a tablet, and just kept trying to copy. Kept analyzing other peoples' art (particularly Alpha Shade, which had a very layered look that caught my eye) and trying to copy it. I eventually developed my own style, but you can trace a lot of my process back to things I started figuring out while trying to copy Alpha-Shade.

In short, for me, learning wasn't so much about books. I mean, yeah, I have a few instructional books, including some burne hogarthe ones. Good stuff, but, really, I never got much out of trying to *read* things that taught me how to draw. I just had to copy. Copy, try, experiment, try, try, try. Copy. Try. Copy try.

The tablet I got, in 2006, was a Wacom Intuos3, 6x11. I'm still using it, but it's falling apart, and the shortcut buttons are almost all completely worn out. I'm down to 2, and one of those barely works anymore. :) I sooo need a new one.

mbuist

Was just looking at your site. Nice work. I have just started it to learn. Basicly I want to draw cartoon style. Do you have any site your using for tutorial or any other tips or websites to explore
Visit my arcade site - http://www.tincubegames.com/
Read all about my games at - http://www.tincubemedia.nl
Please follow Tincube Media on Facebook - http://www.facebook.com/tincubemedia

As a final touch.. GOD created the Dutch

alex pang

here, an image of a cat i found on google, i resized it and reduced its colors.
You see your proportions are incorrect. fix them first they are often the most important.
Then you should reduce your colors, use 4 colors to start with, 1 black 2 dark gray 3 light gray 4 very light gray (or white but it isnt recommended since its a cat)