Why can't I be beautiful?

Uxizaado

Hello, I'm pretty much a beginner in Stencyl, though I have been using it for a while. (never very seriously, unfortunately). I like coding, and spriting, but I'm not good at either T.T

I just spent quite a bit of time on this sprite, (Stayed up til two then woke up at 9 to finish, but I'm sure this is nothing new) and it. looks. horrible. I followed a fakemon tutorial, and did everything to the letter, and still my sprite looks like garbage. .-.

My questions: WHY?? Where did I go wrong? I think the outline (The hands, arms, feet and ears specifically) are my biggest mistake, but I couldn't get it right no matter how much I fiddled with it. Any tips? Something I'm missing? Why can't I be beautiful too?

"Quotes are for dumb people who can't think of something intelligent to say on their own." - Bo Burnham.

osiaslemuel

If you're just starting to learn to draw game arts, Have patience and watch more tutorials and practice.
If that Fakemon tutorial is too hard for you and you spent many hours on it, try to do easy tutorials first, this will make you comfortable on the software you use and maybe you could learn more techniques on making your art better.

Start with the basics so when you complete severals of them you'd be confident enough to move on.
also, starting with a specific art style will make things easier for you.
Just remember to have confidence and have patience in following tutorials.  ;D

« Last Edit: May 17, 2013, 09:47:42 am by osiaslemuel »

vikingpotato

A wise artist told me, start by copying art you like..

osiaslemuel

start by copying art you like..
I always did these when I'm just starting to learn.
But if you want to do original game arts, always look for references

Vigilence

« Last Edit: May 17, 2013, 11:13:12 am by Vigilence »

Uxizaado

Have patience and watch more tutorials and practice.
try to do easy tutorials first