[NOT solved] Null version number causes updates to fail

jamesvhyde

  • Posts: 25
I had worked around this inability to update by manually installing the 1.1 patch from the news forum. Is there a different build number for the current patch? If so, what is it?

Another line in the boot.txt that is different from Hectate's in mine is url.update. I have
Code: [Select]
url.update=http://www.stencyl.com/updates/ Hectate has
Code: [Select]
url.update=http://www.stencyl.com/sw/updater/I think this also contributes to the inability to update.

« Last Edit: August 14, 2011, 05:44:33 am by jamesvhyde »

Jon

  • *
  • Posts: 17526
http://www.stencyl.com/updates/ is definitely a bad URL. Hectate's is correct. I wonder how that got stuck in there.

By chance, did you change the workspace location?

The current build number is 404 (patches don't increment the number, so you can fake having a version and continually reupgrade).

jamesvhyde

  • Posts: 25
I did change the workspace location. Actually the problem began when I tried to use Dropbox (the online storage service). I installed Dropbox and SW on two different Macs, then changed the workspace location on both to the Drobpox-enabled directory. This caused both SW installations to share the workspace files. I think I may have had different versions of SW on the two different computers, but I thought they were both up to date (1.0.4).

JensWinterstein

  • *
  • Posts: 433
Any updates regarding this? I kinda ran into the same issue by using Dropbox for my Stencyl-Project folder.

Anyway... as long as only the update feature isn't working and the version is still correct it's not a big deal for me.
Get 100 Chambers for Android / iOS
Get Cubus Velox for Android / iOS or play it on Flash

- Portfolio

Joe

  • *
  • Posts: 2480
I've been using Dropbox to keep my workspaces in sync and haven't experienced any issues. Have you tried doing a clean installation recently?

JensWinterstein

  • *
  • Posts: 433
I tried a clean installation on both of my machines. Is there a way to reset the preferences like i.e. delete the boot.txt?

I'm also sure that the error appeared because the version on one machine didn't match the version on the other machine at first, but both versions shared the same workspace.

edit: For the clean installation I removed every stencylworks related stuff and re-installed it in a different folder while using a different workspace.


« Last Edit: December 20, 2011, 09:27:30 am by JensWinterstein »
Get 100 Chambers for Android / iOS
Get Cubus Velox for Android / iOS or play it on Flash

- Portfolio

Joe

  • *
  • Posts: 2480
Before you do an installation, you should delete the StencylWorks folder in your Documents folder, as well as the StencylWorks.prefs file.

Then you can copy the default boot.txt and auth.txt files into your new workspace.

(Actually, to your point, I think StencylWorks may autogenerate those if it finds they're missing.)

JensWinterstein

  • *
  • Posts: 433
Thanks for the help, Joe.
Here's what I've done to solve the issue, in case any other user runs into the same trouble:

Start Stencyl and set your workspace folder to the default value ("StencylWorks Installation Folder"). Then do a clean re-install of Stencyl.

This worked on both, MacOSX and Windows.

« Last Edit: December 20, 2011, 10:14:24 am by JensWinterstein »
Get 100 Chambers for Android / iOS
Get Cubus Velox for Android / iOS or play it on Flash

- Portfolio

Joe

  • *
  • Posts: 2480
Glad to hear you got it worked out. Thanks for reporting back!