Chartboost Mobile Ads (Not Updated)

ManicZombie

Thanks very much for the help!

dariolessa

There is a updated extension of Chartboost?

rob1221

Like I said earlier in the thread, not without third party framework support, which I'm guessing won't happen without a full update to OpenFL.  An update should also solve that annoying conflict some users have with multiple extensions with static libraries (the Admob + Chartboost conflict).  The problem with updating is that it can cause unexpected problems, so Jon's hesitant to do it, and it definitely won't happen just before a major release like 3.2.

rob1221

I know I've been saying for a few months that the new iOS SDK can't be used without framework support, but as I found out today, that's false!  The Chartboost framework contains the usual header files, some one-line files that I guess are references of some kind needed by the framework, and one big file called "Chartboost" with no file extension.  Well it turns out, that file is actually the same as libChartboost.a used in previous versions.  After renaming the big file and editing one of the header files, I was able to get an ad to show, so eventually I'll finish and link the updated extension for iOS.  Since my Obj-C knowledge is almost zero, it may take me some time to fully port all Android blocks to iOS (and I can't guarantee I'll succeed).

Also, I figured out the cause of the Admob/Chartboost conflict.  With the version of OpenFL we're using, there can be only one <ios linker-flags> tag in each game, meaning that anyone trying to use two extensions with that tag, such as Admob and Chartboost, will run into errors.  A temporary solution, until the next OpenFL update that fixes this problem, is to remove or comment out one of the tags and just move the linker flags to the other tag.  I can give more details if anyone needs them, but Admob supposedly doesn't work for iOS right now anyway.

rob1221