Game Art Suggestions & Feedback [Updated art style]

Max Finch

Hey guys!

Both me being sick and this stupid pixel art character has been killing me this past week. In fact game progress has stopped completely because I find him so plain and boring that I feel bored with the entire game (Or something like that). Basically I'd like some advice, help, mockups, anything to help me create the right character for this game. It's my first time in pixel art and so far everything but the character is going right...

This is my main character so far:

I don't know why but I feel he's just so... boring. Like I'm missing something or maybe something needs to be fixed/added.

Here he is in a screenshot of the game (WIP):

I'm not sure where to go from here. When I initially created him he worked but as I continued to work on the game something changed and I no longer think he works with the project.

In the game you basically jump to avoid spikes, that's it. Not gonna say much more but I do plan on releasing it to Flash, iOS, Android, and the Amazon Store in the middle of this month.

Does anyone have any ideas as to what to do?

What if I made him some sort of flightless bird (Chicken, Penguin, Ostrich,???) Or what if I stuck with what I had and did.... IDK, That's where my writers block kicks in.

I'm open to any ideas!

-Max

« Last Edit: September 14, 2014, 03:58:50 pm by Max Glockling Games »

Photon

What kind of atmosphere are you going for here? I feel like I can't gather quite enough from the in-game pic you've supplied.
Do NOT PM me your questions, because I likely will not respond. If I have replied to your question on the forum, keep using that topic. Thanks!

Max Finch

The atmosphere of the game is very much like Flappy Bird and Swing Copters..

Basically I'm kinda going for a simple pixel art - addicting - easy to play sorta deal.

It's got a touch of fez in the art design as well if that answers your question?