REQUESTING ART

Avigga

  • Posts: 72
I am Requesting Mega Man 8bit Stencyl 64x64 sprites.
Can someone make these?

If you dont know what i mean so this is megaman 8bit pic.. but it is too large and background is white i dont need bg...


« Last Edit: October 14, 2011, 08:24:10 am by Avigga »
IcyTower ;)

Alexin

  • *
  • Posts: 3132
You can remove the white background (any decent editor does it) and scale the image. Also, remember you can choose a "transparent" color when you import an image into StencylWorks.

It's quicker than waiting for someone to do it, unless that image is only an example of what you want.
"Find the fun"
alexin@stencyl.com

Avigga

  • Posts: 72
Ok Alexin. I make these and it is maybe 10 animations or more...

Do you see these when it is ready?

And Alexin where is Pencyl Scale?

« Last Edit: October 14, 2011, 08:55:02 am by Avigga »
IcyTower ;)

Alexin

  • *
  • Posts: 3132
Select the image, click Image in the menu bar and select the Image Size. Uncheck the bock Keep Aspect Ratio and select the option Replicate pixels.
"Find the fun"
alexin@stencyl.com

alex pang

  • Posts: 168
It's actually 3bit not 8bit
A 8bit sprite would have 255 colors, this one actually has only 5-6.

Murad

  • Posts: 151
Actually, from what I've been taught, no its not 3bit. Theres no such thing as 3 bit. The 8 in 8bit refers to each sprite or section of a sprite being 8x8 pixels high, with a 3 color limit + transparency in each 8x8 section. The 255 colors is the palette.

Hectate

  • *
  • Posts: 4643
8-bit is a reference to how much color information is stored, not necessarily the size or resolution of a sprite.

A "bit" is the 0 or 1 that makes up binary number systems. Eight bits is therefore any binary value between 00000000 and 11111111. The wikipedia link below details how this was commonly used (less so in modern computer systems outside of retro games) in computer color management.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/8-bit_color

The NES was technically not an 8-bit color system.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nintendo_entertainment_system#Video

It was however an 8-bit computer.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/8-bit

Which is where the common use of "8-bit" style retro art comes from as opposed to 16-bit consoles like the SNES (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/History_of_video_game_consoles_%28fourth_generation%29).

« Last Edit: October 22, 2011, 09:02:33 am by Hectate »
:
:
Patience is a Virtue,
But Haste is my Life.
Proud member of the League of Idiotic Stencylers; doing things in Stencyl that probably shouldn't be done.

Murad

  • Posts: 151
Ah I see, thanks for clearing that up :-D

alex pang

  • Posts: 168
8-bit is a reference to how much color information is stored, not necessarily the size or resolution of a sprite.

A "bit" is the 0 or 1 that makes up binary number systems. Eight bits is therefore any binary value between 00000000 and 11111111. The wikipedia link below details how this was commonly used (less so in modern computer systems outside of retro games) in computer color management.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/8-bit_color

The NES was technically not an 8-bit color system.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nintendo_entertainment_system#Video

It was however an 8-bit computer.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/8-bit

Which is where the common use of "8-bit" style retro art comes from as opposed to 16-bit consoles like the SNES (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/History_of_video_game_consoles_%28fourth_generation%29).
Nes has a 8bit cpu, but has 4bit graphical card witch is the only thing relevant for us so quit calling it 8 bit. And nes had only 55 unique colors in the pallet that it could use or show on screen.
And snes has a 8bit graphical card btw.
(I was trying to make a computer in minecraft once this is why I know this much unnecessary info :P)

Avigga

  • Posts: 72
This actor making is too hard for me, but if someone can do this :D

This is pic what i want and these must be normal stencylworks actor size. i can make other sprites for game...

IcyTower ;)

Gemini

  • Posts: 150
dude...one google search and the first result

http://www.spriters-resource.com/custom_edited/megaman/index.html

another similar reworded search

"megaman sprite"

http://www.sprites-inc.co.uk/files/Classic/

again, first result

Avigga

  • Posts: 72
Gemini but here is only all sprites in one pic...
IcyTower ;)

Murad

  • Posts: 151
You can edit them out. It literally takes 3 clicks in paint. Stop being lazy.

Here is a tutorial. Watch it. http://youtu.be/QwfB9YP8XWM

« Last Edit: October 30, 2011, 08:53:10 am by mozzy »

Avigga

  • Posts: 72
I will maybe try this... Is this easier to make in photoshop?
IcyTower ;)

Murad

  • Posts: 151
Yes, you can easily do it in photoshop as well.