Stencyl 3.4.0 is now out. Get it now!

Climbing Mt. Everest in sneakers and shorts: My attempt at going pro

KramerGames

About two weeks ago I downloaded Stencyl, a few hours after that I decided to become a professional Indie-Developer even though I have no experience in programming nor drawing nor design. I am making this journal so it can serve as an inspiration, or more likely as a warning, to others. I assume there are quite a few people who are considering/dreaming of doing the same, so it will be interesting to see how an actual attempt goes. As the title implies, I am aware of the odds, but for me not trying and always wondering “what could have been” is worse than spending a few months and realizing nothing could have been and its time to move on.

This state of “what could have been” has actually been a dark shadow over my head for many, many years. Though I haven't played much in the past 10 years or so (the last mobile game I played was “Snake” on a Nokiaphone), I have spent countless hours creating games in my mind. So I decided I have to try it at least once, and luckily I discovered Stencyl, which made the first steps so easy.

About myself: I am in my late 20s, have been traveling for the past 8 years around the world playing online poker (and feel kinda reminded now of when I said I will make a living out of that and noone believed me). Currently I am living in a bamboo hut on an island in Thailand with monkeys all around, but I will soon return to Northern Thailand.

I do not have a time frame for when to give up, my savings are not a lot but my costs of living are very low. Right now I just want to make one game and see how long it takes me, what the result is, how it will be received and if it makes any money. Even if it fails on every level, I will likely make another game to see the progress.