Mini Monster Maker - First Game

LadyLala

Hi all,

I'm new here, and I'm pretty excited to discover how easy it is to make games with Stencyl. I'm an artist and frontend web developer, but I've never made a game (yet). Just played them. I won't bore you with my history...

Mini Monster Maker is an idea that I came up with as a practice for a larger game I'd like to make someday down the road when I'm more experienced. The idea behind this mini game is to build a creature using preset options in a menu/builder. I always enjoy making my own personalized characters in RPG games, and so I figured this would be a nice prototype for any future game where I wanted this feature.

I spent two evenings after work doodling - so here's my very rough sketches for a basic type of gameflow/selection process. Obviously I could add more options and items later, once the first working version is complete.

What do you think? Is this a silly idea I should just build for myself as practice, or does it have any merit here? FYI, I know I'm horrible at writing copy - the pretzel joke is one between my sister and I, and just placeholder (most likely) for now until I get something better together. Same with the art - will be updated later. At this point the graphics are just enough for me to knock some code blocks together.

Thanks for any and all suggestions - I'm not married to this concept, and open to constructive input.

merrak

I really like the artwork so far! (Bonus points for the aquarium in the background). When you complete all the steps, what happens to your creature?

LadyLala

Thanks! (I drew each fish on its own layer and gave them a 3-frame cycle too!)