Mini Monster Maker - First Game

LadyLala

Thanks for the help everybody - your support is awesome! This is the only place I've gotten any real constructive criticism on my doodles - and it's a huge help. I know I'm just a noob right now, but when I get more exp in stencyl, I'll be sure to help the new noobs!

So, I scratched the earlier test. Sometimes, it happens. When something isn't right, and you can't/won't repair it - time to move on. I took your feedback to heart and decided to study the link that merrak sent me. Wow! Awesome resource.

Now missing only raise and lower the height of hips and head.

You were being generous - I was erring in a lot of ways I didn't realize. Thanks for this graphic though! It visualized the movement in a nice way, very helpful.

Quote from: merrak
The motion still looks a bit stiff to me. I think with the amount of detail you have, more frames might make it easier to get more fluid motion

Your tip here was spot on. 4 frames is too short for a walk cycle. I studied the muybridge photo series you suggested, and I realized the little suit guy was off in more ways than one!

Quote from: ceosol
I think two extra frames, at the "down" point for each leg (in guri's picture) - showing the knee bend better would make it more fluid.

I actually added more - the two you suggested, and two more as well; on the other end of the cycle, when the figure is the tallest. After some experimentation, I think this balance makes it the most fluid..

I'm still not sure what's off, but this sketch feels more right to me than the earlier test. So now, I'll have to do a million more of these until it's second nature.

ceosol

That definitely looks better. What I am noticing is that the torso skips backwards on the leg extension frame.

LadyLala

That definitely looks better. What I am noticing is that the torso skips backwards on the leg extension frame.