Stencyl 3.4.0 is now out. Get it now!

Give me tips you wanted to know when you first started using Stencyl

aleksanrt1516

As you can see I am a beginner and i would like to hear some tips from more experienced Stencyl developers.. I want to know how were you feeling at start, did you have any troubles  or something like that.  And i want to ask you  is it possible to return invested money within a year (assuming that i bought pro version + certificates for publishing games to Android and iOs which all together would be 325$)

Thank you in advance!

VoidShard

Here's one:
Nothing easy was ever done without hardship.

And another:
Peace by pieces.

And another:
Giving up doesn't mean deleting all your work, it means waiting a few hours.

More cryptic advice:
Simpler games are easier to make.

TheIndieStation

As you can see I am a beginner and i would like to hear some tips from more experienced Stencyl developers.. I want to know how were you feeling at start, did you have any troubles  or something like that.  And i want to ask you  is it possible to return invested money within a year (assuming that i bought pro version + certificates for publishing games to Android and iOs which all together would be 325$)

Thank you in advance!

Yes, it can be viable if done right.

Here are my tips:

1. DON'T spend money on licenses yet!
- I will get some angry eyes on my now haha, but it will probably take you at least half a year before you have a game worth publishing if you expect to make money of it. So save it untill you are confident enough to start make that counter tick.

2. Start simple!
- Everyone says this, so it must be true right? But in al seriousness, if you start to big, you get frustrated, and you will loose interest.

3. Don't be afraid to re-invent the wheel, but don't try to sell it.