Smooth Camera Follow

Murad

Hi, I'm requesting a behavior of a smooth Camera Follow. There used to be one on Stencyl at one point but was removed for some reason or another. I think it stopped working when Stencyl was converted to flash but I don't know exactly.
Essentially what the behavior does is have the camera follow the player in a smoother, more flowy look instead of always being dead center on the player actor. Notice in this video how the camera isn't always totally focused on the player. When he stops moving, the camera takes a moment to catch up because it sort of lags.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cr0CCkH49g0

Stencyl Ninja

This should solve your problem.

Jon

Another approach is to have the camera follow an invisible, non-colliding actor and use the "slide" block on that actor to add the delay you desire. That's what the original smooth camera behavior did.

Stencyl Ninja

I'm pretty new to Stencyl so don't even know of a sliding block yet, lol.
I've only just now realized that it looks like I posted nothing here unless you are logged in.

Yea mozzy, Jon's way is better, use his, cause I still don't have the whole easy alterability thing down ... mine's just a quick hard-coded method ... although that could be changed I guess once I get better at this.

Hey Jon, any ideas on a good way to start a Punch-Out Clone?
Thought I'd have it half done by now but never can get myself to start work on it.

irock

I've tried to replicate the Cave Story camera behavior in several different ways, but I failed each time.

If I recall correctly, the old smooth camera just replicate the player's movement at a delay. It wasn't actually smooth. If you hit a wall and stopped abruptly, the camera would stop instantly too. If you turn around instantly, the camera would too. Cave Story's is much more organic.

Regarding the use of a slide block for the camera, I thought sliding couldn't be interrupted. What if the player turns around?