Stencyl 3.4.0 is now out. Get it now!

PATHOS - A short interactive fiction

TombHand

PATHOS -  A SHORT INTERACTIVE FICTION
In the year 20XX, a remote prison's simulated world is being ravaged by a lone hacker. You must stop them at all costs.

Howdy everyone,

I've been following and using Stencyl for a few years now, but I've only just gotten around to publishing my first game: PATHOS. It's a project that I've been building for academic research purposes as part of my MA, and which has kind of taken on a life of its own. I've never been active in the forums before (sorry to pop up just to talk about my game), but I'm hoping to be more active in the community from now on - Stencyl's been invaluable to me, and I feel the need to return the favour by contributing however I can. I'm far from a good programmer (or, like, anything else involved in game development yet), but I've come along way with Stencyl and I'm very much in for the long haul.

Anyhow, to the game: in PATHOS, you take the role of OPERA-09, an agent dispatched to repair the AR-GUS prison system, a containment facility where inmates are held in stasis while their minds are rehabilitated in a virtual world. Upon your arrival, you discover that the system has been heavily compromised by a hacker, and it is up to you to stop them.

System: Windows only, for the moment.
Controls: LMB/Z to progress dialogue, mouse to use interface, X to speed up text.
Credits: All game content is my own; I'd like to extend an enormous debt of gratitude to Justin Espedal and Cory Martin, creators of the Stencyl Dialog Extension used in this project (http://dialogextension.com/). Without this I probably would have torn all my hair out months ago, and/or been found dead in Miami.