Text Input Extension

greatanthony

  • Posts: 152
Text Input Extension [3.4+] (v.1.0)

blocks, features, documentation , Instructions, version-History and DOWNLOAD

HERE

« Last Edit: April 04, 2018, 04:09:19 am by greatanthony »

designpeg

  • *
  • Posts: 594
Hi, should this work on all platforms? I can't  get it working on iOS.

greatanthony

  • Posts: 152
hi,
i don't know about ios, or android and other platforms as i have untested on them.........

but does it show the "pretyped text" on the game on ios? i think that will determine whether this purely unworks or have some issues...
Anthony

greatanthony

  • Posts: 152
i also assume there that ios may not have built-in support for fonts that are in this extension......
try testing this.......


IN WHEN CREATED EVENT

designpeg

  • *
  • Posts: 594
Hi, thanks for the help. I'm pretty sure the issue is the font not being available in IOS - as it compiles and works on Mac desktop.

I see that choosing the font to use in the text block sets the font via Tin.setfont( INTEGER );

if I create a font in Stencyl I can call it by using   
getFont(MY FONT  INTEGER );

I tried using a code bloc and setting  Tin.setfont(MY FONT  INTEGER) and  Tin.setfont(getFont(MY FONT  INTEGER ));

but neither worked. Is there a way to select one of the fonts created in stencyl to use?


greatanthony

  • Posts: 152
hi again,

very much thanks to let me know that this extension works on mac... :)
Tin.setfont( INTEGER ); i used this to choose btween 3 fonts in the extension.......

Yes I remember one way to add stencyl fonts , but since it was too lengthy method , i didn't include that in the extension.......

can you give me some minutes? I'll illustrate here how to add stencyl fonts to the input box......

designpeg

  • *
  • Posts: 594

greatanthony

  • Posts: 152
hi again ,

it's some sad news.....

The method I knew was that to name that font's actual name in hx file....But now I found, that method would only be working if user has that font installed.... :(

Since stencyl uses BitmapFonts as Images of Fonts and not Actual Fonts to display them....... it's not possible  to get those stencyl fonts working in the text input box other than those built in :(

But I would be exploring other ways to achieve this.......... who knows might get these fonts  to work!! :)

« Last Edit: April 05, 2018, 04:53:25 am by greatanthony »

designpeg

  • *
  • Posts: 594
Ok, thanks for the help. If I find a solution I'll post it here.

greatanthony

  • Posts: 152
o.k....... thought to write here....

This Extension's compatibility ==>
FLASH (player and browser) : WORKS
MAC: WORKS
IOS : UNTESTED
LINUX: UNTESTED
ANDROID : WORKS
WINDOWS: UNTESTED (should work)
HTML5 :WORKS WITH BUGS

« Last Edit: June 18, 2018, 08:52:59 am by greatanthony »

Wasanni

  • *
  • Posts: 84
Hey Guys, just tested this on Android 7.0 (Galaxy Note 5) and it seems to be working fine.

I used it to input a value, store it, and add it to another value.

Thanks for the extension, it is quite helpful!

greatanthony

  • Posts: 152
hi there,
it is great to hear some feedback ( i wasn't expecting much feedback though  :) )
thanks for writing and letting to know it's mobile compatibility (updated it)