Robobomb

Bomberman101

Hey guys. This is a game I've been working on for the past two months. The gameplay was inspired by Bomberman Hero on the N64. For now I have a running tech demo of the mechanics and a couple of levels which are for the most part complete. I'd really like to keep going with this but I feel it needs more people to test it just to see if it feels right or if it needs anything else.

Here's a link to the game:
http://www.stencyl.com/game/play/38883

The main character is Robo, a walking "bomb factory" that's trying to escape from the laboratory of his creator, Professor Durnick.

A quick rundown on gameplay:

Try to get to the end of the level by using your bombs to progress. Avoid colliding with enemies and your own explosions to avoid taking damage. Your health is shown at the top left corner of the screen.

The Controls:
- Use the left and right arrow keys to move around
- Press the up key to jump
- Press X to throw a bomb

I've tried to simplify this game more since the last time I posted it. What are your guys's thoughts? Does the gameplay feel right, is there anything game breaking?

This is more of a prototype than anything, but I'll continue to update it, thanks in advance to any testers and feedback!

« Last Edit: June 25, 2018, 01:29:58 pm by Bomberman101 »

mdotedot

Interesting start.

Controls are way too hard to start with.  (Ok, I'm not a good gamer but you should aim for the baddest of them all)
At least make an in game tutorial about the controls.
Start with some real easy levels and let the player learn how to throw the bomb in the air etc..

Have fun with this!
Hanging out in the Chat:  http://www.stencyl.com/chat/

Proud member of the League of Idiotic Stencylers! Doing things in Stencyl that probably shouldn't be done.

Bomberman101

You know that makes a lot of sense I'll keep that in mind. I've noticed that these current first levels are a little too "platform-y" so will definitely rework those.

Bombini

Hi,