Trouble exporting and/or compiling a game in HTML 5?

nicolelaine

  • Posts: 5
Has anyone here run into trouble getting your game to test run or export in HTML 5? I'm running Stencyl 4, and my error logs say things about XCode having trouble, or my audio files not being correct, or something with a language pack, yet I still have the same issues when I start a new project that does not have any audio attached and try to export it in HTML5. I'm wondering if there is some kind of special setup, or something I could be missing that could be causing these issues. Thank you for your help!

To make some things extra clear:

- all audio files are in ogg, I edited them in Audaticty and they have no metadata attached to them. This issue is also happening on projects that have no audio files attached to them.
- I'm unclear why I need Xcode at all, as I'm not exporting my game to iOS.
-This issue happens both when trying to test and export my game in HTML5.
-Exporting and play testing in Flash is no problem.
-I've attached my error logs below.

I've searched all over, and it does not seem like anyone else is having this exact issue. I've also posted in the Stencyl Discord to no avail, as well as in a game incubator Slack I'm in.

Any suggestions or input welcome. Thank you!

rob1221

  • *
  • Posts: 9461
Code: [Select]
2019-02-10 14:14:57,525 INFO  [Thread-17] stencyl.sw.util.StreamGobbler: [haxelib] Reading Lime config: /Users/Nicole/stencylworks/prefs/.lime_config.xml
2019-02-10 14:14:58,540 INFO  [Thread-17] stencyl.sw.util.StreamGobbler: [haxelib] Running command: UPDATE
2019-02-10 14:14:59,188 INFO  [Thread-17] stencyl.sw.util.StreamGobbler: [haxelib] Called from ? line 1
2019-02-10 14:14:59,188 INFO  [Thread-17] stencyl.sw.util.StreamGobbler: [haxelib] Called from CommandLineTools.hx line 2084
2019-02-10 14:14:59,189 INFO  [Thread-17] stencyl.sw.util.StreamGobbler: [haxelib] Called from CommandLineTools.hx line 25
2019-02-10 14:14:59,189 INFO  [Thread-17] stencyl.sw.util.StreamGobbler: [haxelib] Called from a C function
2019-02-10 14:14:59,189 INFO  [Thread-17] stencyl.sw.util.StreamGobbler: [haxelib] Called from CommandLineTools.hx line 146
2019-02-10 14:14:59,189 INFO  [Thread-17] stencyl.sw.util.StreamGobbler: [haxelib] Called from CommandLineTools.hx line 730
2019-02-10 14:14:59,189 INFO  [Thread-17] stencyl.sw.util.StreamGobbler: [haxelib] Called from lime/tools/PlatformTarget.hx line 109
2019-02-10 14:14:59,189 INFO  [Thread-17] stencyl.sw.util.StreamGobbler: [haxelib] Called from HTML5Platform.hx line 326
2019-02-10 14:14:59,189 INFO  [Thread-17] stencyl.sw.util.StreamGobbler: [haxelib] Called from lime/tools/IconHelper.hx line 77
2019-02-10 14:14:59,189 INFO  [Thread-17] stencyl.sw.util.StreamGobbler: [haxelib] Called from lime/tools/IconHelper.hx line 400
2019-02-10 14:14:59,190 INFO  [Thread-17] stencyl.sw.util.StreamGobbler: [haxelib] Called from lime/graphics/Image.hx line 774
2019-02-10 14:14:59,190 INFO  [Thread-17] stencyl.sw.util.StreamGobbler: [haxelib] Called from lime/graphics/Image.hx line 1880
2019-02-10 14:14:59,190 INFO  [Thread-17] stencyl.sw.util.StreamGobbler: [haxelib] Uncaught exception - Segmentation fault
I don't think I've seen that error before.  When you installed Stencyl, did you do it into an empty folder (without an existing install)?

nicolelaine

  • Posts: 5
Yes...I think so? I don't remember exactly to be honest. I know that I downloaded it twice by mistake and would just open which one was the closest to my mouse for a awhile. Now the application is within my Application folder.

I'm not clear from your screenshot which part is an error here. Or is the entire thing an error? Please excuse my noob brain!

rob1221

  • *
  • Posts: 9461
The whole thing is an error, and it has something to do with an icon image.  Try deleting .lime_config.xml (make a backup first) and see if that changes anything.

nicolelaine

  • Posts: 5
I'm a little unclear where I should be deleting this from. I don't see a file with that name in the folder. Here is what I see: https://www.screencast.com/t/XRzB08MWm

Am I missing something?

Thank you for your help!

nicolelaine

  • Posts: 5
Ok, I found it and deleted it, but it didn't work. When I export the next time, the .lime file appears again. I'll attach my logs again down below.

rob1221

  • *
  • Posts: 9461
Line 1880 referenced in that error message isn't even within the HTML5 section of the code so I'm very confused.  On my end, even if I type a bunch of nonsense right above that line, nothing happens because that section is (and should be) ignored on HTML5.  For some reason, on your end it's being treated as a non-HTML5 game and is failing on code intended for other platforms.

ericar1996

  • *
  • Posts: 3
Hello!

I am having exactly the same issue when I try to export to iOS or XCode. Any updates on the issue?

Thank you.