Stencyl 2.0 - Official Release (Updated Apr 21)

Rob

  • *
  • Posts: 1268
Thanks so much.

We are almost there. All these exercise is just to help stencyl identify the problem with some of our users.

1. Can you confirm this:

a. Under C:\Users\Zeljko\/, you see a Stencylwork.prefs which as no content and NO stencylworks folder. Please look around this place very carefully. Did you delete the stencylworks folder here?

b Under AppData/Roaming/Stencyl, you see a Stencylwork.prefs and also NO stencylworks folder.

c. When you opened Stencyl, can you again tell me what's the workspace (File->Preferences->Workspace). Look for workspace folder.

d. If you go to this workspace, you should see a stencylworks folder. There got to be a stencylworks folder somewhere.


« Last Edit: April 21, 2012, 01:38:55 pm by Rob »
GOLDEN RULE #1 : SAVE YOUR GAMES FREQUENTLY
IOS/XCODE DEBUGGING
http://www.stencyl.com/help/view/xcode-ios-troubleshoot/
WATCH STENCYLWORKS VIDEO TUTORIAL BY SUNRISEKINGDOM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KDfRfjzr9j4&feature=channel_video_title

Snails123

  • Posts: 36
There is a bug in Stencyl 2.0. When your make a behaivor drawing and collision are there. Then if you add an event drawing and collision disappears. The Screenshot button doesn't work. And also, what is actor 1 and 2? :o

coleislazy

  • *
  • Posts: 2607
Drawing and collision categories are only available to events which can use them. "Created" cannot use either, so they disappear. Actor 1 and 2 are references to the two actors in a collision, with actor 1 being the actor the behavior is attached to.

miguelkiki

  • Posts: 8
I could use this Java version:

Code: [Select]
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_31-b04)
Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM (build 20.6-b01, mixed mode)

instead of the Java version included with Stencyl:

Code: [Select]
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_31-b04)
Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM (build 20.6-b01, mixed mode)


What is the difference?, The Java version included with Stencyl don't work for me.

Jon

  • *
  • Posts: 17524
I could use this Java version:

Code: [Select]
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_31-b04)
Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM (build 20.6-b01, mixed mode)

instead of the Java version included with Stencyl:

Code: [Select]
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_31-b04)
Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM (build 20.6-b01, mixed mode)


What is the difference?, The Java version included with Stencyl don't work for me.

We pulled the 32-bit version of Java directly from here:
http://java.com/en/download/manual.jsp

The only difference I see is that the one that runs for you is 64-bit, while the one we provide is 32-bit, but I thought 32-bit Java will run fine, regardless?

If you replace runtimes/jre-linux/ with a fresh copy of the 32-bit JRE picked up from Java's site, does that work? What about a 64-bit one if the 32-bit one fails?

Jon

  • *
  • Posts: 17524
Update:

For those with Xcode 4.3 who are running into issues with the iOS Simulator where Stencyl shows no Versions under MObile Game Settings and does not run your game in the simulator, try the latest nightly build. It may help you out since I reimplemented how we detect Xcode versions.

http://community.stencyl.com/index.php/topic,3874.0.html

saulochina

  • Posts: 214
Very good! Everything is working fine here. Gongrats for the launch!
Finding the fun!
Squib Wars. Now complete, and avaible for free on App Store! http://bit.ly/LxJ62L
https://www.facebook.com/twoheadedgames
Twitter: @saulochina
MSN: sauloj.china@hotmail.com

miguelkiki

  • Posts: 8
When I run:

java -Xms64m -Xmx1024m -verbose -Djava.library.path=./lib -jar ./sw.jar

With Java 32-bits (I Downloaded Java from http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/java/javase/downloads/jre-6u31-download-1501637.html, the first file. ) I get something like this:




But it runs very well with OpenJDK:


Code: [Select]
OpenJDK Runtime Environment (IcedTea6 1.11.1) (fedora-65.1.11.1.fc16-x86_64)
OpenJDK 64-Bit Server VM (build 20.0-b12, mixed mode)

Code: [Select]
OpenJDK Runtime Environment (fedora-2.1.fc16.1-x86_64)
OpenJDK 64-Bit Server VM (build 22.0-b10, mixed mode)



What's the reason to use the Java version that comes with Stencyl?




« Last Edit: April 21, 2012, 05:32:36 pm by miguelkiki »

Jon

  • *
  • Posts: 17524
Linux users are upgrading more and more to Java 7, which we've found to cause Stencyl to fail to run and were not able to address for 2.0. Some users don't have Java at all, and older version or a version of Java that just doesn't work too well (like the ones supplied by IBM).

In order to guarantee a consistent, predictable experience for everyone, we want to bundle Java and make the Java part of things completely transparent.

Play

  • Posts: 165
There are multiple collision events now, including the one you're looking for.

I know that there are multiple collision event types, but for "when this actor hits something else" events, "actor 1 hit ____" blocks do not seem to work. They aren't interchangeable with the "this actor hit ____" blocks. In order to get those collision events to work I have to copy and paste the old blocks in from older versions of Stencyl because they have been removed from the block picker in 2.0.

« Last Edit: April 22, 2012, 12:42:07 am by Play »

applaud

  • Posts: 370
Congrats Jon and team for getting 2.0 out to us :D I'm downloading now.

zeljko46

  • Posts: 84
Thanks so much.

We are almost there. All these exercise is just to help stencyl identify the problem with some of our users.

1. Can you confirm this:

a. Under C:\Users\Zeljko\/, you see a Stencylwork.prefs which as no content and NO stencylworks folder. Please look around this place very carefully. Did you delete the stencylworks folder here?

b Under AppData/Roaming/Stencyl, you see a Stencylwork.prefs and also NO stencylworks folder.

c. When you opened Stencyl, can you again tell me what's the workspace (File->Preferences->Workspace). Look for workspace folder.

d. If you go to this workspace, you should see a stencylworks folder. There got to be a stencylworks folder somewhere.

wait, under C:/users/zeljko, i found a stencylworks folder. it had subfolders: extensions, games, logs, prefs, previews.
yes, under appdata, i can't find a stencylworks folder, just a .prefs file.
workspace is in C:/users/zeljko. what now?
Play my game: http://www.kongregate.com/games/zeljko46/idle-downloader
Feedback, suggest, and if you want, offer help :)

Rob

  • *
  • Posts: 1268
Please confirm this before you proceed.

A. You have C:\Program Files\Stencyl
B. You have C:/users/zeljko/stencylworks folder and NO C:/users/zeljko/Stencylworks.prefs
    In the stencylworks folder, you should see 5 folders
    - extensions
    - games
    - logs
    - prefs
    - preview
C. You have C:/users/zeljko/AppData/Roaming/Stencyl and one file inside, Stencylworks.prefs and nothing else. The content of this file is:

global.workdir.style=true
global.extension.style=true
global.workdir=C:\Users\Zeljko\/


Please confirm above very carefully since if you have one or less file or a wrong name could cause different expectations.

If everything is correct above, please proceed to following:

1. Can you turn off/on computer.

2. Relaunch 2.0 stencyl (no need to redownload or reinstall)

3. Go and do test game using sample game Alien Approach to see if it works.

4. If not, try to run it in browser (Use Run-> Test in Browser on top menu bar)

5. If not, just go to Debug->Generate Logs and post the log here.

« Last Edit: April 22, 2012, 10:52:01 pm by Rob »
GOLDEN RULE #1 : SAVE YOUR GAMES FREQUENTLY
IOS/XCODE DEBUGGING
http://www.stencyl.com/help/view/xcode-ios-troubleshoot/
WATCH STENCYLWORKS VIDEO TUTORIAL BY SUNRISEKINGDOM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KDfRfjzr9j4&feature=channel_video_title

zeljko46

  • Posts: 84
Please confirm this before you proceed.

A. You have C:\Program Files\Stencyl
B. You have C:/users/zeljko/stencylworks folder and NO C:/users/zeljko/Stencylworks.prefs
    In the stencylworks folder, you should see 5 folders
    - extensions
    - games
    - logs
    - prefs
    - preview
C. You have C:/users/zeljko/AppData/Roaming/Stencyl and one file inside, Stencylworks.prefs and nothing else. The content of this file is:

global.workdir.style=true
global.extension.style=true
global.workdir=C:\Users\Zeljko\/


Please confirm above very carefully since if you have one or less file or a wrong name could cause different expectations.

If everything is correct above, please proceed to following:

1. Can you turn off/on computer.

2. Relaunch 2.0 stencyl (no need to redownload or reinstall)

3. Go and do test game using sample game Alien Approach to see if it works.

4. If not, try to run it in browser (Use Run-> Test in Browser on top menu bar)

5. If not, just go to Debug->Generate Logs and post the log here.
Well, i carefully did all the steps (A, B, C) and all the stuff you said was true. i tried what you did under the numbers, and testing in browser worked for me. i will post the logs anyways.
Play my game: http://www.kongregate.com/games/zeljko46/idle-downloader
Feedback, suggest, and if you want, offer help :)

zeljko46

  • Posts: 84
Wait, wtf? All my games just disapeared!!! And opened the games folder, and it opened AppData->Roaming->Stencyl->Games     Then, i went back a folder, and there were all the folders that are in C->Users->Zeljko->Stencyl. I may have opened an old version of Stencylworks. Does that have anything to do with it?
And all of the sudden, when i re-put the games in the 'games' folder, and tried testing them, it worked!!!

« Last Edit: April 22, 2012, 11:48:02 pm by zeljko46 »
Play my game: http://www.kongregate.com/games/zeljko46/idle-downloader
Feedback, suggest, and if you want, offer help :)