Demo Kit

Alexin

  • *
  • Posts: 3132
The Demo Kit is a base for games that intend to be demonstration of various resources. It provides a basic user interface for each scene that you can configure to some extent.

How to use

1- Get it from Forge
2- Create a new game based on the kit
3- Import your resources
4- Duplicate the existing scene and customize it. (The UI is created automatically and you don't need to place it into the scene)
5- Test it!


Some things like the buttons positions are partially hardcoded (it should adapt for any resolution, though) so, if you modify them, be sure to make them the same sizes, etc.

All resources have descriptions and icons.

Comment, rate, enjoy!

« Last Edit: May 18, 2011, 08:57:30 am by Alexin »
"Find the fun"
alexin@stencyl.com

Rob

  • *
  • Posts: 1268
I tried the Demo kit by simply placing those 3 actors into scene 1 and hit test scene, it say preview failed for some reason. Thanks.
GOLDEN RULE #1 : SAVE YOUR GAMES FREQUENTLY
IOS/XCODE DEBUGGING
http://www.stencyl.com/help/view/xcode-ios-troubleshoot/
WATCH STENCYLWORKS VIDEO TUTORIAL BY SUNRISEKINGDOM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KDfRfjzr9j4&feature=channel_video_title

Alexin

  • *
  • Posts: 3132
The actors shipped along the kit are placed automatically by the behavior into the scene. I'll make this clear in my previous post.

It runs fine when you test it right after downloading, doesn't it?

EDIT:
I just placed some of those actors into the scene and the game runs fine.

« Last Edit: May 18, 2011, 09:00:23 am by Alexin »
"Find the fun"
alexin@stencyl.com

Rob

  • *
  • Posts: 1268
Actually, it does not. I saw the blank scene first and do test scene, it threw the error. Then I thought I got smart and place a couple of actors inside the scene and it also has the problem.

This is true for pre 1.0 and 1.0.
GOLDEN RULE #1 : SAVE YOUR GAMES FREQUENTLY
IOS/XCODE DEBUGGING
http://www.stencyl.com/help/view/xcode-ios-troubleshoot/
WATCH STENCYLWORKS VIDEO TUTORIAL BY SUNRISEKINGDOM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KDfRfjzr9j4&feature=channel_video_title

Alexin

  • *
  • Posts: 3132
Show me the error, please.
"Find the fun"
alexin@stencyl.com

Rob

  • *
  • Posts: 1268
I've problem with my machine doing printscreen.

But a small excerpt in console goes:

LOG The source file no longer exists.
Unable to transcode /Users/Alexandre/Dropbox/Joana... hover.png
LOG PREVIEW FAILED

Is there a physical ascii file somewhere I can post the log. Or we can get someone else on team to post the error.
GOLDEN RULE #1 : SAVE YOUR GAMES FREQUENTLY
IOS/XCODE DEBUGGING
http://www.stencyl.com/help/view/xcode-ios-troubleshoot/
WATCH STENCYLWORKS VIDEO TUTORIAL BY SUNRISEKINGDOM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KDfRfjzr9j4&feature=channel_video_title

Alexin

  • *
  • Posts: 3132
I know what's causing the error and why I can't reproduce the problem here. The game embeds two images , to use as cursors, that are stored in my PC. I thought they were being shipped along the SWF but it seems it doesn't.

I'll try fixing it with a relative path.

Next time, you can click Debug > Generate Logs. It ZIPs your logs from the past 24 hours so you can attach them here.
"Find the fun"
alexin@stencyl.com

Alexin

  • *
  • Posts: 3132
Rob, can download the kit and try again, please?
"Find the fun"
alexin@stencyl.com

Rob

  • *
  • Posts: 1268
Thanks Alexin. I'll use the log next time.

However, I do not have access to SW right now and will get back to you later in the day.

« Last Edit: May 18, 2011, 10:29:10 am by Rob »
GOLDEN RULE #1 : SAVE YOUR GAMES FREQUENTLY
IOS/XCODE DEBUGGING
http://www.stencyl.com/help/view/xcode-ios-troubleshoot/
WATCH STENCYLWORKS VIDEO TUTORIAL BY SUNRISEKINGDOM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KDfRfjzr9j4&feature=channel_video_title

Rob

  • *
  • Posts: 1268
Confirmed that the problem is fixed. Thanks.
GOLDEN RULE #1 : SAVE YOUR GAMES FREQUENTLY
IOS/XCODE DEBUGGING
http://www.stencyl.com/help/view/xcode-ios-troubleshoot/
WATCH STENCYLWORKS VIDEO TUTORIAL BY SUNRISEKINGDOM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KDfRfjzr9j4&feature=channel_video_title

Alexin

  • *
  • Posts: 3132
I thank you. The kit had already been downloaded a couple of times and nobody reported the problem.
"Find the fun"
alexin@stencyl.com

Rob

  • *
  • Posts: 1268
You are welcome. I have been poking around quite a few behaviors/resource/pack/kits/games and at least make sure they can be fired up.
GOLDEN RULE #1 : SAVE YOUR GAMES FREQUENTLY
IOS/XCODE DEBUGGING
http://www.stencyl.com/help/view/xcode-ios-troubleshoot/
WATCH STENCYLWORKS VIDEO TUTORIAL BY SUNRISEKINGDOM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KDfRfjzr9j4&feature=channel_video_title

Rob

  • *
  • Posts: 1268
Alexin, I tested the kit some more and find it extremely useful.

There are a couple of issues/requests:

1. I see the title displayed but not the description in each of the scene.
2. Can we place a dummy actor in the center of each scene or at least have an option in the scene behavior to place such an actor? This will make the workflow even easier. All I need to do is to attach my own behavior to this actor.
3. Any chance we can customize the background color also with the scene behavior also? I know we can do it through changing the individual scene properties.

My sample game on Forge Newest Kit -> Rob's Demo kit.
GOLDEN RULE #1 : SAVE YOUR GAMES FREQUENTLY
IOS/XCODE DEBUGGING
http://www.stencyl.com/help/view/xcode-ios-troubleshoot/
WATCH STENCYLWORKS VIDEO TUTORIAL BY SUNRISEKINGDOM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KDfRfjzr9j4&feature=channel_video_title

Alexin

  • *
  • Posts: 3132
1. I see the title displayed but not the description in each of the scene.
Click the blue information icon. I know it isn't intuitive at all and I have plans to fix it.


2. Can we place a dummy actor in the center of each scene or at least have an option in the scene behavior to place such an actor?
Is there some limitation that doesn't let you place an actor like you'd do normally? Or do you want me to simply ship the kit with a dummy actor already?


3. Any chance we can customize the background color also with the scene behavior also? I know we can do it through changing the individual scene properties.
You can change the sliding panel's background via the behavior User Interface.
"Find the fun"
alexin@stencyl.com

Rob

  • *
  • Posts: 1268
1. I see the title displayed but not the description in each of the scene.

Click the blue information icon. I know it isn't intuitive at all and I have plans to fix it.

Got it. It works. However, looks like the second line wraps too early.


2. Can we place a dummy actor in the center of each scene or at least have an option in the scene behavior to place such an actor?

Is there some limitation that doesn't let you place an actor like you'd do normally? Or do you want me to simply ship the kit with a dummy actor already?

Yes. Simply ship the kit with a dummy actor to make it even easier for anyone. Perhaps you can set an option in the scene behavior to let people choose to create a dummy actor or not.


3. Any chance we can customize the background color also with the scene behavior also? I know we can do it through changing the individual scene properties.

You can change the sliding panel's background via the behavior User Interface.

What I mean is the scene background color itself. Not the panel and others. But it's OK you
if you don't think it is necessary.  I just think it would be nice to control all the colors of characters, panel and background in the scene behavior itself. Thanks.


GOLDEN RULE #1 : SAVE YOUR GAMES FREQUENTLY
IOS/XCODE DEBUGGING
http://www.stencyl.com/help/view/xcode-ios-troubleshoot/
WATCH STENCYLWORKS VIDEO TUTORIAL BY SUNRISEKINGDOM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KDfRfjzr9j4&feature=channel_video_title