Drawing to the screen - and making it stick

sharpleaf

I asked this question in the Stencyl IRC and the replies were all very interesting. There were multiple concepts into how to get this done, yet I couldn't get it to happen. Here's the idea: I want to make a simple drawing "game". Since I'm brand new to Stencyl (and everything really) I wanted to make my first goal to be able to click the mouse and have a pixel appear where I clicked and have it STAY (that's been the kicker).
So, mouse click = permanent pixel placement, using only blocks in Design Mode.
I say using only blocks because I wouldn't have the foggiest on how to meddle in the AS3.
Also, if someone else new finds this thread, it would be a good learning experience if it were in all blocks.

Here was my shot. It doesn't work, but I don't know why.

Ready, go!

sharpleaf

by the way, x and y are just number attributes (variables).

Greg

When you say it doesn't work, what isn't working?  Are the pixels showing up and then disappearing, or not showing up at all?

I tried recreating your behavior (something equivalent at least) and it seemed to work for me.

Alexin

I think he's only showing us the solution he came up with, and not actually asking for help.
"Find the fun"
alexin@stencyl.com

Greg

After re-reading it, you might be right.  But he did put this "Here was my shot. It doesn't work, but I don't know why.", which is why I thought he was still looking for help.  :)

sharpleaf

Yeah I'm looking for help :)