How to change actor's direction when character is moving left/right? [SOLVED]

0paque0ccupant

Hello everyone,

I am creating an abstract platformer/art game. This is my very first game and initially the game I use to familiarize myself with Stencyl so sorry if I sound really nooby. :P

This is the current work in progress version of it: http://www.stencyl.com/game/play/12947

The player is attached with the prepacked "Jump and Run Movement" behavior as well as the "Fire Bullet" behavior.

I can't figure out how to change the actor's direction in order to make the bullets fire in the direction it's actually facing. So for now I've just used a separate frame to simulate when he moves left.
I've tried editing the standard behaviors but I'm not really good at programming behaviors. If someone could please help me, that would be greatly appreciated.

« Last Edit: June 15, 2012, 03:04:04 pm by 0paque0ccupant »

hansbe

There's a block called [for self get [] from behavior []] you can use to get an attribute from the jump and run movement behavior.
The attributes you could get are "Facing Left?" (true/false) or Move (-1 left or +1 right)

0paque0ccupant

I've found the behavior. Still extremely confused. Before I start on my next game I'm going to actually read through the Stencylpedia so I can figure out this kind of stuff. Haha  :-\

shotfrost

i don't know if i get it right, but according to what i understand, you can't get your actor shoot in the direction it is facing? if it is true, then i think the solution is you add the 'face direction of moving' prepacked behavior.it will solve all of your problem.

Xietao

If you see the Jump and Run Kit the Walking Behavior creates a actor value "Fancing Right?" and set it according when the keys is preesed.
Free Time:
Monday, Wednesday, Friday: 13h
Tuesday, Thursday, Saturday, Sunday: 7h
Loving Linux...

0paque0ccupant