Luyren's Behaviors

Luyren

  • *
  • Posts: 2740
Hmm... try putting a print statement in the parts of the behavior that start the counter. Often times I just had to put a print statement to... well, I don't know what exactly happens, but my behaviors start working after I do that. And you can remove the print later, of course.
My Stencyl resources are available here: https://luyren.itch.io/
Cutscenes, RPG Elements, Particles, Map System and many more.
Twitter

spoogob

  • Posts: 1106
Just an update - I just downloaded the latest build after captaincomic fixed a problem a few people were having from a recent fix/change that had been made, and it seems to work fine now.. so Im guessing that may have been the problem. Seems fine now though!

Luyren

  • *
  • Posts: 2740
Thanks for letting me know! Glad it is working fine now.
My Stencyl resources are available here: https://luyren.itch.io/
Cutscenes, RPG Elements, Particles, Map System and many more.
Twitter

Luyren

  • *
  • Posts: 2740
Cutscenes resource pack is up on Forge. I am confident that this can prove to be very useful to a lot of people, as I made this pack useable standalone. Anyone interested in using it, I'll do my very best to help.

An expanded version of this pack was used in my Colosseum demo. This version was from my kit, and has specific events and conditions for RPGs (like checking for inventory, level and the like). Still, a lot can be done with the pack I just uploaded.

« Last Edit: September 15, 2013, 06:41:47 pm by Luyren »
My Stencyl resources are available here: https://luyren.itch.io/
Cutscenes, RPG Elements, Particles, Map System and many more.
Twitter

UnusualCadence

  • Posts: 139
Hi Luyren! Thanks so much for sharing these excellent behaviours!

I'm having some trouble with the 'Health' behaviour from the RPG Kit though - it seems that a couple of attributes are missing?

Check out the attached screens below, could you tell me what goes in these missing spaces? :)

Luyren

  • *
  • Posts: 2740
Hmm... you are either using this behavior outside of the kit, or you deleted some stuff.

The one in <[ ] = Controllable> is a game attribute. The one in the set damage is a custom block from the defense behavior. If you are not using any of those, you can remove them from the code and the behavior will work fine.
My Stencyl resources are available here: https://luyren.itch.io/
Cutscenes, RPG Elements, Particles, Map System and many more.
Twitter

UnusualCadence

  • Posts: 139
That's interesting, I downloaded this kit directly from Stencylforge and didn't change a thing. I wonder if the import has changed just enough in newer betas to cause problems? I tried re-installing it, and got the same error.

I filled in the missing blocks, and was hit with many, many build errors afterwards in just about every component! So I think something has gone a bit odd here.

Luyren

  • *
  • Posts: 2740
If you are using the kit from 2.0 in the 3.0 version of Stencyl, that's gonna be a problem.

It's not uploaded yet on StencylForge in 3.0, but I can send it to you if you need it.
My Stencyl resources are available here: https://luyren.itch.io/
Cutscenes, RPG Elements, Particles, Map System and many more.
Twitter

UnusualCadence

  • Posts: 139
Quote
[On Forge] RPG Elements: 16 behaviors for setting characters status, equipment and status conditions.

Sorry if I was being confusing, I mean the "RPG Elements" that's already on the 3.0 Stencylforge, rather than the Platformer Kit. I don't believe I'm importing the 2.2 version, unless I'm incorrect about how Stencylforge works.

I've got it working now though if I don't try and patch up the missing blocks and instead just remove the offending chunk of code. Very odd though, I wonder why these specific bits aren't importing? Everything else seems to be fine and dandy!

Luyren

  • *
  • Posts: 2740
Hmm... I think then it's my fault. I'm going to revise the resource pack and reupload. Sorry for the inconvenience.

But yeah, the right course of action is to just remove the offending code.

EDIT: Fixed and reuploaded.

« Last Edit: September 28, 2013, 12:25:14 pm by Luyren »
My Stencyl resources are available here: https://luyren.itch.io/
Cutscenes, RPG Elements, Particles, Map System and many more.
Twitter

UnusualCadence

  • Posts: 139
Awesome, thanks so much for looking in to this! Saved me much scrabbling around trying to re-invent the wheel :)

Luyren

  • *
  • Posts: 2740
You're welcome! Let me know if you find other issues.
My Stencyl resources are available here: https://luyren.itch.io/
Cutscenes, RPG Elements, Particles, Map System and many more.
Twitter

NGS

  • Posts: 66
On your newest Save Status behavior, it says your always triggering event GET, however the custom event GET is missing from the Save Status behavior.

Luyren

  • *
  • Posts: 2740
Ooof, sorry about that. You can remove the GET trigger event. I forgot to double check the beahvior. Remove that, and it will work.

EDIT: Reuploaded.

Also, as you pointed out, Save Status is now on forge. Save as many actor attributes as you want. I think Save Status is included in the RPG Elements kit, but I forgot to upload it standalone.

« Last Edit: October 04, 2013, 09:09:14 am by Luyren »
My Stencyl resources are available here: https://luyren.itch.io/
Cutscenes, RPG Elements, Particles, Map System and many more.
Twitter

NGS

  • Posts: 66
I've been using this all day and its amazing.  You can use it for anything, High Scores, Character position, saves, etc.  Quite nice.  I love your behaviors because you always go the extra mile for customization.

I think your RPG Elements kit are still bugged (at least the ones on the forge are) that UnusualCadence reported

Here is what i've found
-------
Damage Type Modifier (319) -  Missing ;
(Damage Type Modifier Behavior at the Check Timer, Otherwise section.  Custom Block "Get Item" is pulling as an attribute instead of as a block)
Health (121) -  Missing ;
(Health Behavior in the Inflict Damage, specifically the if statement of "Absorb Damage and Damage type to asborb contains Damage Type" is attempting to produce "If inventory of self is full" boolean)
Experience (342) -  Missing ;
Equipments (222) -  Missing ;
Equipments (227) -  Missing ;
Equipments (232) -  Missing ;
Equipments (462) -  Missing ;
Equipments (467) -  Missing ;
Equipments (472) -  Missing ;
Damage Type Modifier (319) -  Unknown identifier
---------
I stopped after the first two, they all appear to have a root cause of your inventory behaviors.  Looks like you may have changed the output your custom inventory blocks recently?

--Edit-- Also was looking at your time behavior.  Think you could sneak in a toggle for displaying Hours as well?

« Last Edit: October 04, 2013, 02:24:53 pm by NGS »