[SOLVED] Unable to test or run - no errors, no binary

Caligari

  • Posts: 22
I have been having a lot of trouble with my Windows install of Stencyl (3.3).

Firstly, I'm a haxe developer, usually using OpenFL with various libraries and frameworks. This has definitely been a problem in the past, and I gave up running Stencyl on my Windows PC because it either didn't run, or it interfered with the development I was doing. This was because Stencyl has its own copy of haxe and libraries, and they are rarely at the same versions as the ones I'm using.

This may be the problem I'm having now, as well. Is Stencyl compatible with having a haxe install on the same PC (Windows)?


Specifically, what I believe I'm seeing when I try to test or run a game, is that it saves, compiles, finishes, and then brings up the flash player which is blank and not the size of the game I was testing. Looking into it a bit, I have been unable to locate any output in the bin directory; if I go into games-generated for a game, into the Export directory, flash, and then bin, there is nothing there. I'm assuming from poking around that this is where the flash file should be.

Similarly, if I try to test in Windows native, looking in its bin directory I have the lime.ndll, a manifest, regexp.dll, std.dll, and zlib.dll, but no exe at all.

I was able to get things working a week ago, when I uninstalled Stencyl and reinstalled it. For that session everything seemed to work as I expected, and I assumed it was all working. But since that time it hasn't worked again.

I noticed, today, that when I tried running haxelib list from the command line it gave me a message I recognize as happening when haxelib is pointed to Stencyl's libraries. I reset my haxelib path to my own install and was able to upgrade my libraries. Running Stencyl and trying to compile returns haxelib to its confused state. But it doesn't seem to matter whether it thinks it is pointing to the Stencyl hax libraries or mine, it is always unable to create binaries.

I assume I could reinstall it and get it to work, but I really don't want to have to uninstall and reinstall it every time I want to use it.

Any advice would be very welcome. I'm willing to poke at things for more info, if needed. I've included the logs from my attempts today.

« Last Edit: May 09, 2015, 04:06:18 pm by Caligari »

captaincomic

  • *
  • Posts: 6108
What Stencyl is doing not to interfere with separate haxe installs is, before it's calling haxe, it's checking remebers haxelib repository, then it changes it, runs haxe (with OpenFL and all the other libs), and the sets the haxelib repo back to the original one.

You can see the in your logs here, before the build
Code: [Select]
2015-05-04 17:29:06,567 INFO  [Thread-12] stencyl.sw.util.StreamGobbler: [openfl.bat] C:\Users\Liam\AppData\Roaming\Stencyl\stencylworks\games-generated\test>set /p OLD_HAXE_LIB= 0<C:\Users\Liam\.haxelib
...
2015-05-04 17:29:06,568 INFO  [Thread-12] stencyl.sw.util.StreamGobbler: [openfl.bat] C:\Users\Liam\AppData\Roaming\Stencyl\stencylworks\games-generated\test>haxelib setup "C:\Program Files (x86)\Stencyl\plaf\haxe\lib"
2015-05-04 17:29:06,603 INFO  [Thread-12] stencyl.sw.util.StreamGobbler: [openfl.bat] haxelib repository is now C:\Program Files (x86)\Stencyl\plaf\haxe\lib/

and after the build to set it back
Code: [Select]
2015-05-04 17:29:08,759 INFO  [Thread-12] stencyl.sw.util.StreamGobbler: [openfl.bat] C:\Users\Liam\AppData\Roaming\Stencyl\stencylworks\games-generated\test>haxelib setup "C:\HaxeToolkit\haxe\lib\"
2015-05-04 17:29:08,792 INFO  [Thread-12] stencyl.sw.util.StreamGobbler: [openfl.bat] haxelib repository is now C:\HaxeToolkit\haxe\lib"/

What's looking strange is the quote at the end here
haxelib repository is now C:\HaxeToolkit\haxe\lib"/
Maybe that is causing your issues. I wonder why it is there, the command
haxelib setup "C:\HaxeToolkit\haxe\lib\"
looks okay.

Instead of reinstalling, try
Code: [Select]
haxelib setup C:\HaxeToolkit\haxe\lib

Caligari

  • Posts: 22
Unfortunately that didn't change the result - nothing runs, and nothing is generated.

Here's the new log for that, although I'm not sure there is much in the way of new information in it. Hmmm.

captaincomic

  • *
  • Posts: 6108
Hmm. Now doesn't have the quotation mark at the end, so that was not the problem.

I didn't notice before, there are many errors here:
Code: [Select]
2015-05-04 17:20:26,579 DEBUG [Thread-12] stencyl.sw.util.StreamGobbler: [openfl.bat]  - Running command: haxe -main ApplicationMain -cp "C:/Program Files (x86)/Stencyl/plaf/haxe/lib/openfl/openfl" -D openfl=2.2.4 -cp "C:/Program Files (x86)/Stencyl/plaf/haxe/lib/lime/lime" -D lime=2.0.6 -cp "C:/Program Files (x86)/Stencyl/plaf/haxe/lib/actuate/1,7,2" -D actuate=1.7.2 -cp "C:/Program Files (x86)/Stencyl/plaf/haxe/lib/console/1,00" -D console -cp "C:/Program Files (x86)/Stencyl/plaf/haxe/lib/polygonal-ds/1,4,1" -D polygonal-ds=1.4.1 -cp "C:/Program Files (x86)/Stencyl/plaf/haxe/lib/polygonal-printf/1,0,0-beta" -D polygonal-printf=1.0.0-beta -cp "C:/Program Files (x86)/Stencyl/plaf/haxe/lib/box2d/1,2,0" -D box2d=1.2.0 -cp "C:/Program Files (x86)/Stencyl/plaf/haxe/lib/stencyl/1,00" -D stencyl -cp Source -cp "C:\Program Files (x86)\Stencyl\plaf\haxe\extensions/gestures" -D lime-openal -D tools=2.0.6 -D flash-use-stage -D no-compilation -D lime-opengl -D openfl-flash -D lime-curl -D web --remap nme:openfl -D network-sandbox -D as3_native -D swf-directblit -swf-lib mochi.swf -swf-lib newgrounds.swf -swf-lib cpmstar.swf -resource Assets/graphics/preloader-bg.png@preloader-bg -resource Assets/graphics/preloader-badge.png@preloader-badge -swf-lib Export/flash/obj/assets.swf -swf-version 11 -swf Export/flash/bin/test.swf -cp Export/flash/haxe -debug
2015-05-04 17:20:29,434 INFO  [Thread-12] stencyl.sw.util.StreamGobbler: [openfl.bat] C:/Program Files (x86)/Stencyl/plaf/haxe/lib/stencyl/1,00/com/stencyl/io/SpriteReader.hx:412: characters 11-23 : box2D.common.math.B2Vec2 has no field winding
2015-05-04 17:20:29,434 INFO  [Thread-12] stencyl.sw.util.StreamGobbler: [openfl.bat] C:/Program Files (x86)/Stencyl/plaf/haxe/lib/stencyl/1,00/com/stencyl/models/Actor.hx:2224: characters 10-22 : box2D.dynamics.B2Body has no field groupID
2015-05-04 17:20:29,435 INFO  [Thread-12] stencyl.sw.util.StreamGobbler: [openfl.bat] C:/Program Files (x86)/Stencyl/plaf/haxe/lib/stencyl/1,00/com/stencyl/io/ActorTypeReader.hx:50: characters 2-18 : box2D.dynamics.B2BodyDef has no field friction
2015-05-04 17:20:29,435 INFO  [Thread-12] stencyl.sw.util.StreamGobbler: [openfl.bat] C:/Program Files (x86)/Stencyl/plaf/haxe/lib/stencyl/1,00/com/stencyl/io/ActorTypeReader.hx:51: characters 2-20 : box2D.dynamics.B2BodyDef has no field bounciness
2015-05-04 17:20:29,435 INFO  [Thread-12] stencyl.sw.util.StreamGobbler: [openfl.bat] C:/Program Files (x86)/Stencyl/plaf/haxe/lib/stencyl/1,00/com/stencyl/io/ActorTypeReader.hx:52: characters 2-14 : box2D.dynamics.B2BodyDef has no field mass
2015-05-04 17:20:29,435 INFO  [Thread-12] stencyl.sw.util.StreamGobbler: [openfl.bat] C:/Program Files (x86)/Stencyl/plaf/haxe/lib/stencyl/1,00/com/stencyl/io/ActorTypeReader.hx:53: characters 2-15 : box2D.dynamics.B2BodyDef has no field aMass
2015-05-04 17:20:29,435 INFO  [Thread-12] stencyl.sw.util.StreamGobbler: [openfl.bat] C:/Program Files (x86)/Stencyl/plaf/haxe/lib/stencyl/1,00/com/stencyl/io/ActorTypeReader.hx:59: characters 2-23 : box2D.dynamics.B2BodyDef has no field ignoreGravity
2015-05-04 17:20:29,435 INFO  [Thread-12] stencyl.sw.util.StreamGobbler: [openfl.bat] C:/Program Files (x86)/Stencyl/plaf/haxe/lib/stencyl/1,00/com/stencyl/io/ActorTypeReader.hx:67: characters 27-48 : box2D.dynamics.B2BodyDef has no field ignoreGravity
2015-05-04 17:20:29,436 INFO  [Thread-12] stencyl.sw.util.StreamGobbler: [openfl.bat] C:/Program Files (x86)/Stencyl/plaf/haxe/lib/stencyl/1,00/com/stencyl/models/Actor.hx:543: characters 4-31 : Cannot access private field m_continuousPhysics
...

They all point to Box2D. Did you maybe install a Box2D manually (in Stencyl's haxe lib repository)?

Caligari

  • Posts: 22
I've installed nothing to Stencyl's areas past its install. When I did the last uninstall and reinstall I made sure the whole directory was gone, to be sure nothing was left behind in the install area (not the stencylworks data area where my games are).

I haven't even had occasion to install a physics library at all for my own work (outside of Stencyl).

captaincomic

  • *
  • Posts: 6108
Hmmm, I would suggest you try a fresh reinstall anyway, and afterwards post new logs. No idea how it happened but something is wrong with your box2d version. Stencyl 3.3 uses box2d 1.11, and in your logs it looks like it's using 1.2.0
Code: [Select]
-cp "C:/Program Files (x86)/Stencyl/plaf/haxe/lib/box2d/1,2,0" -D box2d=1.2.0

Caligari

  • Posts: 22
Uninstalled.

Checked that entire install directory was indeed gone.

Downloaded 3.3 from website, to be certain.

Installed.

Checked that directory tree is there and plaf hax libs include only 1,11 Box2D version.

Run Stencyl; open same project; test; same result (flash player with no game; nothing in games-generated bin for flash).

I thought it would work (and fail after I rebooted next)...

Caligari

  • Posts: 22
Just checked that a Clean didn't fix things, somehow. It doesn't.

captaincomic

  • *
  • Posts: 6108
Please try the following
Code: [Select]
haxelib setup "C:\Program Files (x86)\Stencyl\plaf\haxe\lib"
haxelib set box2d 1.11
haxelib setup "C:\HaxeToolkit\haxe\lib"

Caligari

  • Posts: 22
That certainly seemed to fix the Box2D issues, but still no dice.

rrzl

  • Posts: 242
didn't know Stencyl still using the old version of box2d (1.1.1) that came out in 2012.
will it be updated to the latest v1.2.3 that came out few months ago?

Justin

  • *
  • Posts: 4695
We don't currently have any plans to update. We use a modified version of box2d, so we'll need to carry those modifications over if we ever do update our version.
For Live Support: Join our discord server and ping me @justin.
I'm most often available between 10am and 10pm Japan time. (GMT+9)

Caligari

  • Posts: 22
Any other suggestions?

Justin

  • *
  • Posts: 4695
Looks like the latest issue is from Actuate being the wrong version. Actuate is another library that we've modified a little bit to work better with Stencyl. Try the same thing captaincomic mentioned before to set Actuate to version 1.6.5.
For Live Support: Join our discord server and ping me @justin.
I'm most often available between 10am and 10pm Japan time. (GMT+9)

Caligari

  • Posts: 22
OK!

For me that has fixed it.
Code: [Select]
haxelib setup "C:\Program Files (x86)\Stencyl\plaf\haxe\lib"
haxelib set actuate 1.6.5
haxelib setup "C:\HaxeToolkit\haxe\lib"

Is there a list I should have found that lists the expected versions of all of the libraries which Stencyl uses?