Troubleshooting testing on Windows using Windows 10 [ Guide ]

Donni11

  • *
  • Posts: 2181
Hello Stencylers :) !

Stencyl is a wonderful program that is works on Linux, Windows , and Mac. However ever since Microsoft's new operating system which we all know as Windows 10 there have been repetitive bugs reports about testing or publishing files as a Window File. So I have created this guide to help users fix these bugs.

Note 1 : None of these bugs concern the actual Stencyl application. These bugs are usually concerning Visual Studio or the way permission files and harddrives are set on W10.


Note 2 : So of these bugs also happen on Windows 7, through most of these error only happen on W10, one of the most common ones also happens on W7, error 1#.
 
Request to Mods:  I think this is a very useful and important topic concerning troubleshooting bugs on Windows. So I'm requesting a sticky mark, I'm sure it will help a lot of users, thanks !

______________________________________________________________________________________


Error #1 : Process creation failure : cl.exe

Important Note : This bug has occurred on Windows 7

This is a bug concerning Windows Visual Studio.  The reason this bug occurs is because the language c++ tools arn't installed in VS2015 by defult. Were going to install them.

How To Fix :

Step 1:  First go to Control Panel > Programs > Programs and Features and select VS2015.
Right click it and select change .



Step 2:  A window of Visual Studio should open up, select modify.



Step 3: Select Features > Programming Languages > Visual c++. Then check off the box that says
Common Tools for Visual C++ 2015. Then click Update.

Step 4: Restart your computer then your all set. Open Stencyl and your ready to try out your game !


Error #2 :  Uncaught exception - std@sys_create_dir
     
This bug is a real twister. It took me a a week to figure out how to fix this. But for you it should take no time at all because you have got a guide! This bug concerns W10  permissions with appdata. But remember to fix this bug you must follow these instructing very carefully because they concern and hold all your workspace data.

Important Note : If you are a administrator then  this error won't occur.

Step 1 : Uninstall Stencyl
Step 2 : Reinstall Stencyl BUT WAIT !!! This time install the Stencyl directory in a different location. Look below .
Step 3 : By default the directory should say OS C: / Program Files / Stencyl . But click on the browse button instead. Select OS, then users, then your user, then Document. Click Ok and next.
Step 4: After Stencyl is done installing click Exit not run Stencyl.
Step 5 : Go to Document and create a separate folder called S-workspace.
Step 6: Open Stencyl
Step 7: Click on the tool bar and Preference or press Alt- Enter
Step 8 : Select Workspace and then workspace folder.
Step 9: Click on the little arrow and select Choose Folder.
Step 10 : A file explorer should open up, select document and then click on S-workspace and then select OK.
Step 11 : A Stencyl dialog box should pop up asking you would you like to copy all data to this folder, select yes. This data transfer may take some time like 10 Minutes.
Step 12: Once the data transfer is complete close and reopen Stencyl, try testing your game.

and then your game should work just fine!

Note : The first time you test a windows game may take some time like 7 min.



Well these are the most common error users encounter when testing and publishing a windows file.However if your bug is not listed here feel free to post a comment and I'll add a guide to this topic on how to fix it. Have fun with your Windows File! I hope this guide has fulfilled your needs :) !

« Last Edit: June 22, 2017, 12:35:46 pm by Donni11 »
Peace

Justin

  • *
  • Posts: 4716
Regarding issue #1, it seems that VS2015 does not come with the c++ tools needed to compile by default, so it's actually likely that the c++ language features/command line tools need to be installed for it to work.

See:
https://blogs.msdn.microsoft.com/vcblog/2015/07/24/setup-changes-in-visual-studio-2015-affecting-c-developers/

I would recommend installing the C++ language features first instead of uninstalling VS2015 and installing VS2012 or VS2013.
For Live Support: Join our discord server and ping me @justin.
I'm most often available between 10am and 10pm Japan time. (GMT+9)

Donni11

  • *
  • Posts: 2181
@Justin, Interesting. I'll add that to the post. Yeah it seemed to work with those tools installed.

http://community.stencyl.com/index.php/topic,47117.0.html

and

I also fixed this today coincidentally by making sure to install the C++ command line tools on the install > custom menu :)


Also by the way, do you think you could sticky this topic ?

« Last Edit: April 10, 2016, 01:00:17 pm by Donni11 »
Peace

Justin

  • *
  • Posts: 4716
It would be better if we fixed these issues so the topic wasn't needed in the first place..

Where do you run into "Uncaught exception - std@sys_create_dir" issue?
For Live Support: Join our discord server and ping me @justin.
I'm most often available between 10am and 10pm Japan time. (GMT+9)

Donni11

  • *
  • Posts: 2181
When testing on Windows 10 when the workspace is in Appdata and Stencyl is installed in C:

But this bug has nothing to do with Stencyl it just is how W10 lays out its permission of preventing you to create directory's unless your a administrator.  It really has to do with neko and really Openfl should fix it. The only thing Stencyl could do is in the installer by default the installer installs the workspace into Appdata so Stencyl should change the install place from Appdata to Documents so we don't come across this problem of permissions.
Peace

letmethink

  • *
  • Posts: 2545
I am using Windows 10 and am able to create folders in app data without administrator permissions so I suspect something is awry with your setup.
~Letmethink

Justin

  • *
  • Posts: 4716
Donni, I didn't recommend uninstalling and reinstalling Visual Studio 2015. You just need to install the c++ features, which can be done with VS 2015 already installed (look it up if needed).

I wouldn't recommend any set of steps that includes "install VS2015" because I went through that process yesterday and it was a nightmare. Just saying, if you already have it installed anyway, it shouldn't be a problem to install the optional c++ features.
For Live Support: Join our discord server and ping me @justin.
I'm most often available between 10am and 10pm Japan time. (GMT+9)

Donni11

  • *
  • Posts: 2181
@letmethink, I can also, but neko or Stencyl can't.
@Justin, Yeah I know what you mean. I also tried once installing VS2015, there was so much time involved and some much files installed. Anyway I'll add it ^ up there. So do you think Stencyl is able to install the workspace by default on Documents ? ( the post before letmethink's post )
Peace

Justin

  • *
  • Posts: 4716
No, we won't be rethinking the default install folder or the default workspace. If for some reason, it's an issue for some people, they can change where their workspace is, as you have. If it turns out to be a problem for a lot of people, we can certainly try to figure out what's going on, but I still don't think we'll be moving the default location, because it -should- work fine where it is.
For Live Support: Join our discord server and ping me @justin.
I'm most often available between 10am and 10pm Japan time. (GMT+9)

Justin

  • *
  • Posts: 4716
People still run into this, so I want to reiterate that if you already have VS2015 installed, the simplest and least time consuming way to get this to work is to just add the c++ tools to your existing install.

See attached images.
For Live Support: Join our discord server and ping me @justin.
I'm most often available between 10am and 10pm Japan time. (GMT+9)

Donni11

  • *
  • Posts: 2181
Okay, I updated the first post with these directions. Thanks !
Peace

riotaylor

  • Posts: 1
I have updated Windows 10 on my laptop.  After that, I have not been able to print anything. It shows the message "THE DRIVER IS UNAVAILABLE". i again install the printer driver on my pc with the help of canon printer error b200 But when i print it shows the same issue of the driver.